Main content

Latest PTV

Bulldogs bring class into their Round 22 side

Matthew Agius  August 17, 2017 7:02 PM

AFL 2017 Round 19 - Western Bulldogs v Essendon

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 30: Jason Johannisen of the Bulldogs in action during the 2017 AFL round 19 match between the Western Bulldogs and the Essendon Bombers at Etihad Stadium on July 30, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media)

THE MAN who won last year's Norm Smith Medal and the man many pundits believe could have won it have been brought into the Western Bulldogs line-up to front Port Adelaide in Ballarat on Saturday. 

Jason Johannisen and Dale Morris return for the defending premiers in a crucial game for the blue, red and white.

They replace the suspended Jack Redpath and omitted Mitch Wallis. 

The Bulldogs will be fighting for a place in the top eight when they host the Power at Mars Stadium in the historic first premiership points match in Ballarat. 

Should they lose, the Bulldogs will be in the position of needing their neighbouring opponents to fall in the weekend's games in order to retain their top eight spot

Port, similarly, must win if it is to secure a home final, or potentially still nab a double chance, based on the fall of other results. 

A loss risks Port facing the prospect of an away elimination final or, dramatically, no September action.

The Power have rewarded SANFL form with the debut of Todd Marshall on the back of his mammoth five-goal final term against West Adelaide last week.

Riley Bonner will replace the injured Jasper Pittard, while Sam Powell-Pepper return to add bulk to Port's midfield.

Action at Mars Stadium gets underway at 1.45pm AEST (1.15pm ACST) on Saturday 19 August. 

Western Bulldogs Round 22 AFL team v Port Adelaide
Saturday 19 August, Mars Stadium, 1:45pm AEST

FB: S. Biggs, Z. Cordy, D. Morris
HB: R. Murphy, L. Young, M. Suckling
C: L. Hunter, M. Bontempelli, B. Dale
HF: J. Johannisen, J. Stringer, L. Picken
FF: L. Dahlhaus, T. Cloke, T. Dickson
Foll: J. Roughead, T. Liberatore, J. Macrae
Int: T. McLean, J. Dunkley, B. Williams, C. Daniel    

Emergencies: M. Wallis, F. Roberts, M. Honeychurch
: D. Morris, J. Johannisen
OUT: M. Wallis (omitted), J. Redpath (suspension)

More on