PORT ADELAIDE’s night of nights will take place at the Adelaide Convention Centre on Thursday 30 September with the club to crown its best and fairest player for the 2021 AFL and SANFL seasons.

The John Cahill Medal will be presented to the player judged to be best for the club in the AFL while the A.R. McLean Medal will be awarded to the player deemed to be the best and fairest for the club in the SANFL.

Along with the club champion awards, a range of other merits are presented to those who are deemed to have excelled in each individual field.

Many of the awards are named after significant clubmen too, so get up to speed with portadelaidefc.com.au's guide to the SANFL gongs.  

Click here for your AFL awards guide.

A.R. McLean Medal

Named after: Allan Robert Charles ‘Bob’ McLean OBE – after retiring at the end of the 1949 season, McLean served as Port Adelaide’s secretary and general manager for more than 30 years. Was a former ruckman with the club prior to his long service in administration.

Awarded to: the best performing Port Adelaide SANFL League player. All Port Adelaide SANFL coaches, including Matthew Lokan, Chad Cornes and Trent Hentschel and SANFL manager Shane Grimm – voted on their top players on a 0-5 basis for each game. This means a player can be awarded a maximum of 20 and a minimum of zero votes for a match.

Previous Winners: (Since 1986)

1986 Martin Leslie

1987 Bruce Abernethy

1988 Greg Phillips

1989 Russell Johnston

1990 Scott Hodges

1991 Paul Northeast

1992 Nathan Buckley

1993 Troy Bond

1994 Tim Ginever

1995 Robbie West

1996 Scott Hodges

1997 Tim Ginever

1998 Bryan Beinke

1999 Darryl Poole

2000 Phil McGuinness

2001 Ryan O’Connor

2002 Corey Ah Chee

2003 Brett Ebert

2004 Kristian DePasquale

2005 Jeremy Clayton

2006 Jeremy Clayton

2007 Jeremy Clayton

2008 Jeremy Clayton

2009 Brad Murray

2010 Steven Summerton

2011 Mark Dolling

2012 Jeremy Clayton

2013 Sam Gray

2014 Steven Summerton

2015 Steven Summerton

2016 Kane Mitchell

2017 Brendon Ah Chee

2018 Will Snelling

2019 Jack Trengove

2020 (Not awarded due to club not participating in SANFL)

Anthony Williams Memorial Trophy

Named after: Anthony Williams – son of Foster and brother of premiership coaches Mark and Stephen and sister of Jenny, Anthony was a skilled Port footballer who passed away after a building accident in 1988. This award was minted in his memory at the end of the 1988 season.

Awarded to: Previously awarded to the most courageous Port Adelaide SANFL player, from 2021 will be awarded to the best SANFL contracted player.

Previous Winners: 

1988 Tim Ginever

1989 Stephen Williams

1990 Tim Ginever

1991 Mark Williams

1992 Darren Smith

1993 Darryl Borlase

1994 Stephen Carter

1995 Tim Ginever

1996 Darryl Poole

1997 Mark Clayton

1998 Alf Steed

1999 Mark Clayton

2000 Alf Steed

2001 Alf Steed

2002 Mark Clayton

2003 Corey Ah Chee

2004 Nigel Fiegert

2005 Mark Clayton

2006 Kristian DePasquale

2007 Levi Greenwood

2008 Daniel Elstone

2009 Daniel Elstone

2010 Kory Beard

2011 Luke Harder

2012 Daniel Kulikowski

2013 Daniel Kulikowski

2014 Tom Logan

2015 Tom Logan

2016 Anthony Biemans

2017 Joe Atley

2018 Jack Trengove

2019 Joel Garner

2020 (Not awarded due to club not participating in SANFL)

(Since 2021 awarded to the best SANFL contracted player) 

Bob Clayton Memorial Award

Named after: Bob Clayton - Former General Manager of Port Adelaide in the AFL and SANFL and integral in the establishment of the club in the AFL. 

Awarded to: a person in recognition of their service to the club's operations who demonstrates Bob Clayton's qualities of positivity, honesty, trustworthiness, loyalty and being committed.

Previous Winners: (since 2011)

2011 Daniel Lees

2012 Adrian Settre

2013 John Settre

2014 Linda Crabb

2015 Garry Hocking

2016 Anthony Biemans

2017 Mark Clayton

2018 Steven Summerton

2019 John Settre

2020 (Not awarded)