Key Dates

The AFL has confirmed the below dates for key 2021 off-season events, including the player movement period and draft.

Player movement period

  • Monday, September 6: Draft Nominations Open
  • Friday, October 1: Free Agency opens
  • Monday, October 4: 2021 Continental Tyres AFL Trade Period opens
  • Friday, October 8: Unrestricted Free Agency closes / Restricted Free Agency bidding closes
  • Monday, October 11: Restricted Free Agency matching closes
  • Wednesday, October 13: 2021 Continental Tyres Trade Period closes at 7.30pm AEDT
  • October/November: Selection Only Trade Period
  • Wednesday, November 3-9: Delisted Free Agency Period 1
  • Thursday, November 11-15: Delisted Free Agency Period 2
  • Wednesday, November 17: 2021 NAB AFL Draft Nominations Close
  • Wednesday, November 24: 2021 NAB AFL Draft Round 1
  • Thursday, November 25: Mid-Draft Trade Period
  • Thursday, November 25: 2021 NAB AFL Draft Round 2 onwards
  • Friday, November 26: Pre-Season & Rookie Draft

Return to training

Clubs and players will return to training over three calendar periods, detailed below:

Dates TBC