Main content

Squad: Senior names return for West Coast match

Matthew Agius  March 7, 2013 2:56 PM

AFL 2012 Rd 21 - Port Adelaide v West Coast

Jay Schulz handballs away against the Eagles' Matt Priddis

It will certainly be about playing the sort of footy we want to play in round one.
SELECTORS have chosen an experienced squad for Port Adelaide’s third round NAB Cup clash against the West Coast Eagles.

Included among the list of senior players returning to the side this week is captain Travis Boak, deputy Brad Ebert, Jay Schulz, Kane Cornes, Alipate Carlile and Justin Westhoff.

Omitted from this weekend’s squad is Tom Clurey, Matt Thomas, Mason Shaw, Nathan Blee, Ben Newton and Daniel Stewart.

Coaching and strategy director Alan Richardson told the naming of an experienced side will give the Power its best opportunity to bed its game plan down against one of this year’s flag fancies.

“It’s a great opportunity,” said Richardson.

“They (West Coast) had a fantastic season last year and are going to field a really strong team so it’s a really good opportunity to really road test our players and our game plan against a quality opposition.”

He says despite forecast temperatures of 38 degrees during the day in Alice Springs, Port will look to play as close as possible to the style it wants to show in the opening round of the season.

“It will certainly be about playing the sort of footy we want to play in round one – but with a bit of common sense.”

“We want to keep our players in good nick for the following weeks.” will have live coverage of the Power v Eagles match on site from 8pm (SA Time) on Saturday 9 March.

NAB Cup Round 3 squad
1. Travis Boak
3. Campbell Heath
5. Matthew Broadbent
7. Brad Ebert
8. Hamish Hartlett
12. Jackson Trengove
13. Cameron O’Shea
14. Paul Stewart
15. Lewis Stevenson
16. Oliver Wines
18. Kane Cornes
20. Chad Wingard
23. Matthew Lobbe
26. Andrew Moore
27. Alipate Carlile
28. Jay Schulz
29. Jasper Pittard
30. Sam Colquhoun
31. Darren Pfeiffer
32. Jake Neade
34. Jarrad Redden
36. Jack Hombsch
37. Kane Mitchell
39. Justin Westhoff
40. Aaron Young
41. Brendon Ah Chee
42. Thomas Jonas