Main content

Summerton leads nine Magpies contracts

Matthew Agius  February 16, 2017 4:28 PM

SANFL 2016 Rd 20 - Port Adelaide v Glenelg

Steven Summerton will remain in black and white next year [pic: AFL Media]

STEVEN Summerton and eight other Magpies will continue playing for Port Adelaide in the SANFL in 2017.

Contracts have been issued to Summerton – Port Adelaide’s league captain – Luke Reynolds, Robbie Young, Nathan Rudloff, Tom Gray, Jonathan Ross, Louis Sharrad, Tom Corcoran and Anthony Biemans.

Port Adelaide’s SANFL and Next Generation Academy manager Shane Grimm told the decision to contract the group of nine was straightforward.

“To be able to keep the bulk of last year’s contract player group is very significant for us,” Grimm said.

“Summerton is an exceptional leader and the experience of players like Louis Sharrad, Anthony Biemans, Robbie Young, Luke Reynolds and Tom Gray is going to be really beneficial to us.

“Ross, Rudloff and Corcoran also offered us plenty in 2016, so keeping them on is a good outcome.”

Port Adelaide will look to finalise several of its remaining contracts over the course of its upcoming trial games.

However the Magpies are able to contract players during the early part of the season.