TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Remembering 1992: Port's big win over the Bays

Matthew Agius  August 8, 2017 5:48 PM

Now-Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley celebrates the 1992 premiership [pic: Advertiser]

Now-Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley celebrates the 1992 premiership [pic: Advertiser]

IT'S BEEN 25 years since Port Adelaide’s 1992 premiership victory.

That victory catalysed Port Adelaide’s surge towards the AFL, being the first since its failed attempt to enter the national competition the year before.

In front of 42,242 at the Football Park, Port surged ahead of the Tigers in the second quarter and never looked back.

It was tough going early against a stiff breeze favouring the southern end.

The Bays, led by coach Kym Hodgemann and captain Scott Salisbury, took the early lead.

But a strong rebounding defence governed by skipper Greg Phillips was able to arrest Glenelg’s early momentum and provided plenty of chance for Port’s forwards.

Kicking with the breeze after quarter time, the Magpies piled on seven goals to Glenelg’s one and snuffed Tiger hopes of beating Port for the first time in a decider since its first flag in 1934.

For Port, it would be their 31st flag, and fifth against Glenelg.

The next day’s Sunday Mail said it all: “Hail Port” read the cover, “Magpie Magic” introduced the dissection, and a prophetic “Picture of Power” introduced the photo gallery.

Port’s fourth flag in five years featured plenty of famous Alberton names.



Mark and Stephen Williams were there, Bruce Abernethy, Scott Hodges, David Brown, Darren Smith and Darryl Borlase manned the forward line. Down back were the ‘Batman and Robin’ pairing of Roger Delaney and George Fiacchi, while stalwarts like Greg Phillips and Paul Northeast provided plenty across half back.

Rohan Smith and Hutton manned the wings, while Chalmers and Ginever were aces in the midfield.

But it was the Magpie revelation who won the club’s best and fairest, Magarey Medal and, later that day, the Jack Oatey Medal that capped his stellar season with premiership success - Nathan Buckley.

It’s apt that Bucks, who has called Victoria home since making the move to Collingwood in 1994 after a season at Brisbane, will be at the Adelaide Oval for the recognition on Sunday night.

Buckley’s game-changing performance in the 1992 final was incredible.

He finished with 26 disposals, five marks, and two goals.

Port Adelaide will commemorate the 1992 premiership team this week with a series of videos delving into key moments and performances during the game.

1992 Port Adelaide Premiership Team

FF: B. Abernethy, S. Hodges, D. Brown
HF: D. Borlase, D. Smith, S. Williams
C: D. Hutton, N. Buckley, R. Smith
HB: R. Foster, G. Phillips, P. Northeast
FB: G. Fiacchi, R. Delaney, P. Rizonico
Foll: Chalmers, M. Williams, Ginever
Int: D. Hughes, A. Settre

Best (The Advertiser)
Buckley, Abernethy, Delaney, Hodges, D. Smith, R. Smith, Northeast, Chalmers, Rizonico

S. Hodges 6.0, D. Smith 3.0, N. Buckley 2.2, Settre, Foster, Chalmers, Borlase, Brown, Ginever 1.0, S. Williams 0.1

Jack Oatey Medal
Nathan Buckley

42,242 at Football Park

More on