Main content

Latest PTV

In the mix: SANFL Grand Final

Matthew Agius  September 19, 2017 3:14 PM

SANFL 2017 Round 03 - Port Adelaide v North Adelaide

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 22: Jake Neade of the Magpies during the 2017 SANFL round 03 match between Port Adelaide Magpies and the North Adelaide Roosters at Alberton Oval on April 22, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by AFL Media)

AT LEAST FOUR changes are set to take effect this week as the Magpies welcome in core structural talent.

Dougal Howard, Riley Bonner, Jake Neade and Todd Marshall will all play in Port Adelaide's SANFL Grand Final team, coach Chad Cornes has confirmed. 

That leaves a selection head-scratcher for the coaching panel, with the strong team-wide performance against Woodville-West Torrens in the second semi final making unforced changes difficult.

Only Nathan Krakouer (hamstring) is a confirmed non-starter. 

Port Adelaide injury list

Matt White – calf (assess)
Angus Monfries – calf (TBC)
Nathan Krakouer – hamstring (season)
Jack Hombsch – hip (season)
Billy Frampton – shoulder (season)

Port Adelaide's last team: 2nd Semi Final v Woodville-West Torrens

FB: Hewett, Austin, Toumpas
HB: Rudloff, Lienert, Sharrad
C: Drew, Atley, Summerton
HF: Krakouer, Palmer, R. Young
FF: Johnson, Eddy, White
Foll: Lobbe, Ah Chee, Snelling
Interchange: Irra, Ladhams, T. Gray


Ben Hansen came away from last night's preliminary final win over the Eagles with a back strain. 

Double Blues coach Martin Mattner said on Tuesday that Hansen would be given "every opportunity" to recover and play. 

With Josh Hone accepting a reprimand from the SANFL Incident Review Panel, he too will be free to play.

If Hansen recovers in time, the Double Blues should go into this match unchanged.  

Sturt injury list

Ben Hansen - back strain (test)
Tom Campbell - buttock contusion (test)
Callum Coleman-Jones - knee (indefinite)
John Greenslade - knee (season)

Sturt's last team: Preliminary Final v Woodville-West Torrens

FB: Gilfoy, F. Evans, Page
HB: Sumner, Stephens, Colquhoun
C: Crocker, Battersby, Slimming
HF: Hone, Beard, Dodd
FF: Hansen, Osborn, Riley
Foll: Read, Kirkwood, P. Wilson
Interchange: Harms, McMahon, Sutcliffe

More on