Main content

Ah Chee crowned Port's best Magpie for 2017

Pete McDonald and Matthew Agius  October 6, 2017 10:40 PM

SANFL 2017 Grand Final - Port Adelaide Magpies v Sturt

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 24: Brendon Ah Chee of the Magpies in action during the 2017 SANFL Grand Final between Port Adelaide Magpies and Sturt at the Adelaide Oval on September 24, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by James Elsby/AFL Media)

POWERFUL midfielder Brendon Ah Chee has been awarded the A.R.McLean Medal as Port Adelaide's top Magpie for 2017.

He won tonight’s count at the Adelaide Convention Centre ahead of fellow midfielder Jimmy Toumpas and forward Brett Eddy.

Toumpas was also awarded the Fos Williams Memorial Trophy for the most dedicated player while Eddy was acknowledged with the Magpies leading goalkicker award for his 59 majors for the season.

The West Australian man is the second Aboriginal man to win the medal since Troy Bond in 1993.

Ah Chee’s first A.R.McLean Medal is reward for a standout season that saw him finish second in the Magarey Medal count.

The Power-listed 23-year-old told he was honoured to receive the award.

“You look at some of the names on the winners list and it really is humbling,” Ah Chee said.

“Good team form and a small injury list made it difficult to break into the AFL side this season but I’m proud of what we were able to achieve for the Magpies, as heartbreaking as the Grand Final loss was.”

Backman Jarrod Lienert took home the Max Porter Trophy for the most consistent player while Matthew Lobbe was awarded the Bruce Weber Memorial Trophy as the best team player.



1. Brendon Ah Chee - 115
2. Jimmy Toumpas - 112
3. Brett Eddy - 105
4. Jarrod Lienert - 94
=. Steven Summerton - 94
6. Aaron Young - 93
7. Jesse Palmer - 91
8. Joe Atley - 87
=. Matthew Lobbe - 87
10. Logan Austin - 83

SANFL Award Winners

A.R. McLean Medal (best & fairest)
Brendon Ah Chee

Jimmy Toumpas

Third place 
Brett Eddy

Fos Williams Memorial Trophy (most dedicated)
Jimmy Toumpas

Anthony Williams Memorial Trophy (most courageous)
Joe Atley

Max Porter Memorial Trophy (most consistent)
Jarrod Lienert

Bruce Weber Memorial Trophy (best team man) 
Matthew Lobbe

Leading goalkicker
Brett Eddy (59 goals)

Bob Clayton Award
Mark Clayton