Main content

Latest PTV

Robbie Gray to captain Port in AFLX

February 12, 2018 3:57 PM

AFL 2017 Training - Port Adelaide 310817

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 31: Robbie Gray of the Power poses during a Port Power AFL training session at the Adelaide Oval on August 31, 2017 in Adelaide, Australia. (Photo by Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images/AFL Media)

ROBBIE GRAY will lead Port Adelaide in the historic first AFLX game at Hindmarsh Stadium on Thursday night.

He’s one of five experienced Port Adelaide players who’ll take part with running defender Jasper Pittard and new recruits Jack Watts, Jack Trengove and Trent McKenzie also selected for the inaugural AFLX round robin tournament.

Power fans will also get to see recent draftees Dom Barry, Joel Garner, Jake Patmore and Kane Farrell.

Riley Bonner, Tom Clurey, Dan Houston, Jarrod Lienert, Cam Hewett, Todd Marshall, Jimmy Toumpas, Karl Amon, Sam Gray and Dougal Howard round out Port Adelaide’s 19-man squad.

The Power will compete in the first ever AFLX game, against Geelong at 6.10pm. The club’s second clash, against Fremantle, will begin at 8.02pm. The highest qualifiers from each three-team pool will play off for the first AFLX trophy in a grand final from 9.03pm.

Port Adelaide's 19-man AFLX squad:
Robbie Gray
Trent Mckenzie
Todd Marshall
Karl Amon
Tom Clurey
Jimmy Toumpas
Jack Trengove
Jack Watts
Kane Farrell
Riley Bonner
Joel Garner
Jasper Pittard
Dougal Howard
Jake Patmore
Jarrod Lienert
Dom Barry
Dan Houston
Cameron Hewett
Sam Gray

More on