Main content

In the mix: Plenty to choose from in Round 1

Matthew Agius  March 21, 2017 11:01 AM

Last time v Swans: Rd 20, 2016 - PTV The Power had a dark day at the SCG.

WHO WILL play Round 1?

Of last year’s final team, Pittard, Jay Schulz (delisted), Jarman Impey (suspended), and Nathan Krakouer (suspended) won’t feature on Saturday against the Swans.

The cream at the top is obvious for Port Adelaide, it has a healthy list with first-choice defender Jasper Pittard and young ruck-forward Dougal Howard about a month away from returning.

With two upgraded rookies in the mix as well, the Power are spoilt for choice.

Brett Eddy is an all-but-certain debutant on the back of a strong JLT Community Series following public declarations from the senior coach.

He's a logical option to replace Jay Schulz. 

AFL 2017 JLT Community Series - Port Adelaide v Hawthorn

Dan Houston will push his credentials with the absence of Pittard potentially leaving a place for him across half back.

Sam Powell-Pepper is also shaping as a Round 1 debutant after a strong pre-season, while Joe Atley and Willem Drew also pressed their credentials during the JLT Series.

One man certain to play is Paddy Ryder, the ruckman returning for his first game of premiership season footy since his WADA ban. 

Angus Monfries, also embroiled in that batch suspension of 34 current and former Bombers, is perhaps less likely to earn a call-up after spending the last month returning from surgery. 

Port Adelaide injury list as of Monday 20 March

Matthew Broadbent – hamstring (available)
Jasper Pittard – hamstring (2-3 weeks)
Dougal Howard – knee (3-5 weeks)

Port Adelaide’s last team (Round 23, 2016 v Gold Coast)

FB: Darcy Byrne-Jones, Jackson Trengove, Jasper Pittard
HB: Matthew Broadbent, Tom Clurey, Nathan Krakouer
C: Jared Polec, Robbie Gray, Brad Ebert
HF: Jarman Impey, Justin Westhoff, Sam Gray
FF: Karl Amon, Jay Schulz, Aaron Young
Foll: Matthew Lobbe, Ollie Wines, Travis Boak
Interchange: Logan Austin, Riley Bonner, Will Snelling, Jesse Palmer

Sydney Swans

Sydney will miss a number of players from last year’s grand final team including Ben McGlynn (retired), Tom Mitchell (traded), Xavier Richards (delisted), Jarrad McVeigh (calf), Isaac Heeney (glandular fever), Gary Rohan (back) and Tom Papley (knee).

Sydney Swans injury list as of Monday 20 March

Zak Jones – concussion (test)
Jarrad McVeigh – calf (test)
Callum Mills – hamstring (test)
Gary Rohan – knee (test)
Callum Sinclaire – knee (test)
Kurt Tippett – jaw (test)
Sam Reid – Achilles (1 week)
Colin O’Riordan – lungs (indefinite)
Michael Talia – knee (indefinite)

Sydney Swans’ last team (Grand Final, 2016 v Western Bulldogs)

FB: Jake Lloyd, Heath Grundy, Nick Smith
HB: Callum Mills, Jeremy Laidler, Dane Rampe
C: Kieran Jack, Josh Kennedy, Jarrad McVeigh
HF: Tom Mitchell, Lance Frankllin, Luke Parker
FF: Tom Papley, Kurt Tippett, Ben McGlynn
Foll: Sam Naismith, Dan Hannebery, Isaac Heeney
Interchange: Zac Jones, George Hewett, Xavier Richards, Gary Rohan

More on