PORT ADELAIDE midfielder Jack Trengove was the best placed Magpies player in this year’s Magarey Medal count, with Glenelg’s Luke Partington taking out the SANFL’s highest individual honour.

Trengove finished in equal-fifth position with 15 votes, after a very strong start to the season saw the ball magnet receive votes in six of the first seven rounds.

The 28-year-old led the count after four rounds with eight votes, and was equal-second after seven games with 10 votes, before a five-week injury layoff halted his momentum.

The hard-working midfielder then added another five votes from the last three games of the season, but it was Partington who came out on top with 26 votes.

Partington also won the 2019 R. O. Shearman Medal as the best player across the season, voted by all 10 coaches in the competition.

Adelaide’s Patrick Wilson finished second with 21 votes, while Norwood’s Lewis Johnston was third with 17 votes. Sturt duo Sam Colquhoun and Zane Kirkwood finished with 16 and 15 votes respectively.

Inside midfielder Joe Atley was Port’s second highest vote-getter with eight, while Willem Drew and Scott Lycett each received six votes.

Port players were awarded the maximum three votes in 13 of the 18 games, with the final leaderboard representing how even the contribution was within the group.

Port Adelaide top three:

15 - Jack Trengove
8 - Joe Atley
6 - Willem Drew
6 - Scott Lycett

Port Adelaide votes:

Round 1 vs West Adelaide: 3 J. Trengove, 2 S. Gray

Round 2 vs South Adelaide: 2 J. Trengove

Round 3 vs North Adelaide: 3 J. Lienert, 2 J. Trengove, 1 T. Marshall

Round 4 vs Norwood: 1 J. Trengove

Round 5 vs Woodville-West Torrens: 3 J. Atley, 2 B. Frampton*, 1 J. Trengove

Round 6 vs Central District: 3 P. Ladhams, 2 J. Atley, 1 S. Motlop

Round 7 vs Adelaide: 2 C. Sutcliffe, 1 J. Trengove

Round 8 vs Glenelg:

Round 9 vs Sturt: 3 W. Drew, 2 C. Dixon

Round 10 vs Norwood: 3 O. Wines, 2 C. Sutcliffe

Round 11 vs North Adelaide: 3 T. Rockliff, 2 J. Westhoff, 1 S. Powell-Pepper

Round 12 vs West Adelaide: 3 J. Garner, 2 S. Mayes, 1 W. Drew

Round 13 vs Adelaide: 3 M. Broadbent, 2 J. Lienert, 1 B. Woodcock

Round 14 vs Glenelg:

Round 15 vs South Adelaide: 3 J. Atley, 2 P. Ladhams, 1 S. Hayes

Round 16 vs Woodville-West Torrens: 3 S. Lycett, 2 W. Drew, 1 J. Trengove

Round 17 vs Sturt: 3 S. Lycett, 2 J. Trengove

Round 18 vs Central District: 3 B. Frampton*, 2 J. Trengove, 1 T. Cox

*Ineligible to win the Magarey Medal