PORT ADELAIDE midfielder Ollie Wines has closed to within four points of the leader in the 2021 AFLCA CHAMPION PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD despite his side’s loss to Brisbane on Saturday night.

The Port vice-captain was the only player from his side to poll any votes from the coaches, taking three home from the Gabba.

Wines had a game high 37 disposals to go with seven marks, three tackles and four clearances.

He also had 451 metres gained and a goal on a disappointing night for the club.

Lions Hugh McCluggage and Harris Andrews each polled nine votes while the rest of the votes were split between Charlie Cameron, Grant Birchall, Jarryd Lyons and Lincoln McCarthy.

Six players across the competition scored the perfect 10 votes including West Coast’s Tim Kelly, Sam Walsh from Carlton, Melbourne’s Bailey Fritsch, Sydney’s Tom Hickey, St Kilda’s Zak Jones and Richmond’s Shai Bolton.

Wines is now ranked equal second, having closed to within four votes of Fremantle’s David Mundy.

Round 7 – votes v Brisbane

9 votes – McCluggage, Andrews (Bris)

5 votes – Cameron (Bris)

3 votes – Wines (PA)

2 votes – Birchall (Bris) 

1 vote – Lyons, McCarthy (Bris)

Overall leader board

38 votes – David Mundy (Fremantle)

34 votes – Max Gawn (Melbourne), High McCluggage (Brisbane), Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide)

33 votes – Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs)

31 votes – Christian Salem (Melbourne), Sam Walsh (Carlton)

28 votes – Taylor Walker (Adelaide), Touk Miller (Gold Coast), Christian Petracca (Melbourne)

26 votes - Clayton Oliver (Melbourne),

24 votes – Jaeger O’Meara (Hawthorn), Tom Hickey (Sydney)

23 votes – Toby Greene (GWS), Dustin Martin (Richmond), Jacob Hopper (GWS)