PORT ADELAIDE has a long and proud tradition of acknowledging the contribution of Australia’s servicemen and women as part of Australia’s armed forces during ANZAC Day commemorations.

Since World War One in 1914, Port Adelaide had seen players and officials enlist to serve abroad in the defence of empire and nation.

And while in modern times the club’s players earn their pay playing football at the elite and semi-professional level – and not full time in the Australian Defence Forces – the club retains strong links with the industry.

Donate to the ANZAC Appeal

Power Community Ltd and the Port Adelaide Football Club work closely with the defence community through initiatives such as the Defence Recognition Program and Optimistic Kids.

ANZAC Day in April, and Remembrance Day in November, are times all Australians to remember those who served.

The club will hold an extended commemorative service for the ANZAC Day weekend before the first bounce on Sunday afternoon as well as at its SANFL match at Alberton on Saturday.

Thanks to extensive research by the club in the leadup to this ANZAC Day, over 40 new servicemen who played or were officials for the club have been identified for club records.

Their names will appear on the big screens in the lead up to the first bounce on Sunday afternoon as part of a broad range of ANZAC Round initiatives of the club.

A special story on one of the club's ex-servicemen will appear in The Advertiser and on portadelaidefc.com.au on Friday.

The club welcomes any information from family members regarding ex players and officials who served with Australian forces abroad to contact the club here.

List of known Port Adelaide former servicemen who played for or were officials with the club

Arthur Biscombe
John Robertson
Samuel Howie
Clement Dayman
Thomas Sard
Arthur Channon
Gordon Inkster
Roy Drummond
William Theodore
Horace Hoare
Edward Foggo
Lawrence Levy
Maurice Allingham
Edward Oatey
David Bower
William Marshall
Charles Badcock
Clarence Latimer
Robert Coffen
William Boon †
Joseph Watson †
Albert Chaplin †

Robert B. Quinn
Harry Perry
Geoffrey Wiese
Archibald ‘Spiker’ Dowsett
Reginald Schumann
Frederick Peters
Leslie McLean
Richard Mayne
Dennis Fitzgerald
Francis Gibaut
John White
Harry Naismith
William Glennon
Ken Gardiner
Douglas Pudney
Gordon Dayman
Tom ‘Bull’ Perry
Arthur Utting
Norman McInnes
Kenneth Johnson
John Quinn
Drozena Eden
Harold Beer
John Johnson
Charles Andersen
Lincoln Burnell
Kenneth Slade
Richard  Mayne
Dennis Fitzgerald
Bertram Robinson
Lloyd Rudd †
Maxwell Carmichael †
George Quinn †
Christopher Johnston †
Halcombe Brock †
John Wade †

Peter Chant †

† denotes killed in action or died while serving