SANFL skipper Cam Sutcliffe was awarded the A.R. McLean Medal in 2022. Image: Brooke Bowering.

PORT ADELAIDE’s night of nights will take place at the Adelaide Convention Centre on Monday 9 October with the club to crown its best and fairest players for the 2023 AFL and SANFL seasons.

Among the awards, the John Cahill Medal will be presented to the player judged to be best for the club in the AFL while the A.R. McLean Medal will be awarded to the player deemed to be the best and fairest for the club in the SANFL.

Along with the club champion awards, a range of other merits are presented to those who are deemed to have excelled in each individual field.

Many of the awards are named after significant club people too. Here is our guide to help you get up to speed on the SANFL gongs on offer.

A.R. McLean Medal

Named after: Allan Robert Charles ‘Bob’ McLean OBE – after retiring at the end of the 1949 season, McLean served as Port Adelaide’s secretary and general manager for more than 30 years. Was a former ruckman with the club prior to his long service in administration.

Awarded to: the best performing Port Adelaide SANFL League player. All Port Adelaide SANFL coaches and SANFL manager Shane Grimm voted on their top players on a 0-5 basis for each game. This means a player can be awarded a maximum of 20 and a minimum of zero votes for a match.

Previous Winners: (Since 1986)

1986 Martin Leslie

1987 Bruce Abernethy

1988 Greg Phillips

1989 Russell Johnston

1990 Scott Hodges

1991 Paul Northeast

1992 Nathan Buckley

1993 Troy Bond

1994 Tim Ginever

1995 Robbie West

1996 Scott Hodges

1997 Tim Ginever

1998 Bryan Beinke

1999 Darryl Poole

2000 Phil McGuinness

2001 Ryan O’Connor

2002 Corey Ah Chee

2003 Brett Ebert

2004 Kristian DePasquale

2005 Jeremy Clayton

2006 Jeremy Clayton

2007 Jeremy Clayton

2008 Jeremy Clayton

2009 Brad Murray

2010 Steven Summerton

2011 Mark Dolling

2012 Jeremy Clayton

2013 Sam Gray

2014 Steven Summerton

2015 Steven Summerton

2016 Kane Mitchell

2017 Brendon Ah Chee

2018 Will Snelling

2019 Jack Trengove

2020 (Not awarded due to club not participating in SANFL)

2021 Sam Hayes

2022 Cam Sutcliffe

Max Porter Memorial Trophy

Named after: Max Porter - a long-standing servant of the club in both League and Reserves football, working closely with Bob McLean to manage the expenditure of the club's football program.

Awarded to: the runner up in the A.R. McLean Medal voting (since 2021)

Previous Winners: (introduced 1987 for league most consistent)

1987 Phil Harrison

1988 Darren Smith

1989 Simon Tregenza

1990 Simon Tregenza

1991 George Fiacchi

1992 Roger Delaney

1993 Roger Delaney

1994 Scott Spalding

1995 Rohan Smith

1996 Darryl Borlase

1997 Darren Smith

1998 Richard Ambrose

1999 Phil McGuinness

2000 Phil McGuinness

2001 Ryan O’Connor

2002 not awarded

2003 Craig Parry

2004 Corey Ah Chee

2005 Daniel Elstone

2006 Corey Ah Chee

2007 Joel Perry

2008 Joel Perry

2009 Brad Murray

2010 Steven Summerton

2011 Mark Dolling

2012 Luke Slattery

2013 Kory Beard

2014 Steven Summerton

2015 Steven Summerton

2016 Kane Mitchell

2017 Jarrod Lienert

2018 Jimmy Toumpas

2019 Trent McKenzie

2020 (Not awarded due to club not participating in SANFL)

(Since 2021 awarded to the runner up in the SANFL Best and Fairest voting)

2021 Joel Garner

2022 Sam Mayes

Anthony Williams Memorial Trophy

Named after: Anthony Williams – son of Foster and brother of premiership coaches Mark and Stephen and sister Jenny, Anthony was a skilled Port footballer who passed away after a building accident in 1988. This award was minted in his memory at the end of the 1988 season.

Awarded to: Previously awarded to the most courageous Port Adelaide SANFL player, from 2021 will be awarded to the best SANFL contracted player.

Previous Winners: 

1988 Tim Ginever

1989 Stephen Williams

1990 Tim Ginever

1991 Mark Williams

1992 Darren Smith

1993 Darryl Borlase

1994 Stephen Carter

1995 Tim Ginever

1996 Darryl Poole

1997 Mark Clayton

1998 Alf Steed

1999 Mark Clayton

2000 Alf Steed

2001 Alf Steed

2002 Mark Clayton

2003 Corey Ah Chee

2004 Nigel Fiegert

2005 Mark Clayton

2006 Kristian DePasquale

2007 Levi Greenwood

2008 Daniel Elstone

2009 Daniel Elstone

2010 Kory Beard

2011 Luke Harder

2012 Daniel Kulikowski

2013 Daniel Kulikowski

2014 Tom Logan

2015 Tom Logan

2016 Anthony Biemans

2017 Joe Atley

2018 Jack Trengove

2019 Joel Garner

2020 (Not awarded due to club not participating in SANFL)

(Since 2021 awarded to the best SANFL contracted player)

2021 Campbell Wildman

2022 Nick Moore

Bob Clayton Memorial Award

Named after: Bob Clayton - Former General Manager of Port Adelaide in the AFL and SANFL and integral in the establishment of the club in the AFL. 

Awarded to: a person in recognition of their service to the club's operations who demonstrates Bob Clayton's qualities of positivity, honesty, trustworthiness, loyalty and being committed.

Previous Winners:(since 2011)

2011 Daniel Lees

2012 Adrian Settre

2013 John Settre

2014 Linda Crabb

2015 Garry Hocking

2016 Anthony Biemans

2017 Mark Clayton

2018 Steven Summerton

2019 John Settre

2020 (Not awarded) 

2021 Bob O’Malley

2022 Alf Trebilcock