Kirsty Lamb has been elected to the AFL Players' Association's Board this week. Image: Jess Green.

ONE Port Adelaide star is replacing another on the board of the AFL Players’ Association.

New Port Adelaide AFLW recruit Kirsty Lamb has been elected to the AFLPA Board at the organisation’s Annual General Meeting this week.

She joins Hawthorn’s Sam Frost and Carlton’s Marc Pittonet in being elected.

Collingwood premiership Captain Darcy Moore was re-elected to the Board for a second term after three years of service in his first term. Moore and existing AFLPA Board member, Kerryn Peterson, were both elevated to the role of Co-Vice President, while Patrick Dangerfield was re-appointed as President.

With the retirement of former Port Adelaide captain Tom Jonas, he is no longer eligible to be a current player director of the AFLPA, having first been elected in 2021.

He is one of four outgoing board members along with Phil Davis, Annalyse Lister, and Ed Curnow.

Davis served on the Board since 2017, Curnow since 2019, while Lister was elected alongside Jonas in 2021.

AFLPA CEO Paul Marsh thanked the outgoing Board members for their dedication to the AFLPA and all players.

“I would like to acknowledge the service, commitment and passion of Annalyse, Ed, Phil and Tom,” Marsh said.

“They have all made outstanding contributions to the Board and the wider Association. Their leadership and insight during arguably the players’ and the industry’s most challenging period as they guided members through the impact of COVID-19 as well as playing integral roles in multiple Collective Bargaining Agreement negotiations cannot be understated.”

Patrick Dangerfield, who retained his role as the AFLPA President for a seventh year, welcomed the new additions to the AFLPA’s leadership structure.

“We are excited to welcome Sam, Kirsty and Marc to the Board. They are all highly respected leaders across the competition, and I have no doubt our members will continue to feel supported and heard having each of them on the Board.

“I would also like to congratulate Kerryn and Darcy on being elevated to Co-Vice Presidents by the Board.

“We are also equally excited that Kristen Hilton will be stepping into the role of Chair of the Board. She has made an outstanding contribution in her first 12 months on the Board and will be an invaluable asset to the AFLPA as our Chair.”

Lamb joined Port Adelaide on the final day of the 2023 AFLW Trade Period in a trade involving 11 clubs. 

The All-Australian has played 67 games at the Western Bulldogs, including a premiership in 2018, and has arrived at the club where her uncle Paul Rizonico played 102 SANFL games between 1989 and 1994.

The new AFLPA Board consists of Patrick Dangerfield (President), Kerryn Peterson (Co-Vice President), Darcy Moore (Co-Vice President), Sam Frost, Chris Heffernan, Kristen Hilton (Chair), Isabel Huntington, Kirsty Lamb, Paul Marsh (AFLPA CEO), Catherine Phillips, and Marc Pittonet.

The Board is also now required to appoint a new independent Director to replace Andrew Twaits and that appointment will be announced in due course.



Current AFLW player for Port Adelaide Football Club (2024 – current)
Inaugural AFLW player with Western Bulldogs Football Club (2017 – 2023)
Previously first-class cricketer for Victoria and Melbourne Renegades
AFLPA Club Delegate – Western Bulldogs (2019 – 2023)
Bachelor Exercise Science/Sport Science
Diploma of Remedial Massage
Currently completing a Master of Business Administration 


Current player for Hawthorn Football Club
Previous player for Melbourne Football Club (2015 – 2019) and GWS (2012 – 2014)
Leadership group – Hawthorn (2023 – current)
AFLPA Club Delegate – Hawthorn (2022 – 2023)
Bachelor of Business & Commerce
Professional Certificate – Adolescent Counselling
Player representative on Hawthorn’s Community Foundation Board
Member of Hawthorn’s Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP) working group  


Current player for Carlton Football Club (2020 – current)
Previous player for Hawthorn Football Club (2015 – 2019)
AFLPA Club Delegate – Carlton (2022 – current)
Bachelor of Commerce – Accounting & Finance
Currently studying for Chartered Accountant qualification
Ambassador for Carlton Respects Program
Actively involved with Challenge supporting kids with cancer


Victorian Department of Justice and Community Services – Lead, Independent Review Adult Corrections System
BHP – Expert adviser
Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission – Commissioner
Victoria Legal Aid – Executive Director, Legal Practice
Victoria Legal Aid – Executive Director, Civil Justice and Access\
Public Interest Law Clearing House – Executive Director
2006 Churchill Fellowship recipient
2007 Law Institute Community Lawyer of the Year
AFLPA Board member since 2023