PORT Adelaide has made two promotions as part of its 2015 leadership group announcement which sees ruckman Matthew Lobbe promoted to be a vice-captain, while third-year player Ollie Wines included on the seven-man panel.

Lobbe will maintain a joint vice-captaincy with Brad Ebert, who continues in his third year in the deputy role to skipper Travis Boak.

Join as a 2015 member here

Wines adds to fellow leaders Jackson Trengove, Tom Jonas and Hamish Hartlett in the leadership group.

Lobbe entered the leadership group for the first time in 2014 after a stellar finish to the 2013 season, essentially as the Power’s sole ruckman.

Last year he shouldered much of the ruck load again, missing just one game through a minor leg injury.

Wines is on track to continue his remarkable start to his AFL career, having maintained an unbroken sequence of 49 games since his debut in Round 1, 2013.

Selected collaboratively by the playing group and coaches and approved by the club’s board, the Power’s leadership group continues to blend youth and experience in a panel that sets the internal standards for the club’s 45-man list.

“It’s our job to set the standards around the club, in the community and on game day and that’s what we’ll be doing,” captain Travis Boak told portadelaidefc.com.au.

“It’s good for the team to see ‘Lobbes’ taking on an important new joint vice-captaincy position with Ebo [Brad Ebert] and I have no doubt he’ll take his leadership skills to another level.

“[And] Ollie is a good addition to the group with his will to improve both his game and that of the whole team.”


Brad Ebert (left) continues as a vice-captain in 2015 along with Matthew Lobbe, while Ollie Wines (right) joins the Power's leadership group. Picture: AFL Media

While the formal leadership group sets the standards at training and on the playing field, the spread of experienced players allows for plenty of mentorship and example-setting within the whole team.

That, says Boak, is crucial to the development of young players looking to develop quickly at Alberton.

“We’re spoilt for senior leaders in the club who are more than willing to help younger players develop on field and off,” Boak said.

“Those players are guys like Kane Cornes, Justin Westhoff, Tom Logan, Robbie Gray, Alipate Carlile and Angus Monfries continue that great supportive work.”


2015 Port Adelaide Football Club leadership group

Travis Boak (captain), Brad Ebert and Matthew Lobbe (vice-captains), Tom Jonas, Jackson Trengove, Hamish Hartlett, Ollie Wines