PORT ADELAIDE defender Darcy Byrne-Jones was the club’s sole vote winner in the 2020 SHADFORTH FINANCIAL GROUP AFLCA CHAMPION PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD from the loss to St Kilda on Saturday night.

Byrne-Jones’s repeated efforts and defensive pressure made him a clear standout for Port. 

The 24-year old was his side’s leading possession winner, finishing the night with 21 disposals.

The 2019 best and fairest runner up also collected eight intercepts and 18 pressure acts to go with 365 metres gained. 

For that he received four votes from the coaches.

It was an even spread between Saints for the rest of the votes with former Port players Dougal Howard (4 votes) and Paddy Ryder (3 votes) among those to impress the coaches.

Brisbane’s Lachie Neale extended his advantage at the top of the leaderboard after receiving the perfect ten votes in his side’s narrow win over Melbourne. Western Bulldog Jack Macrae, Greater Western Sydney’s Toby Greene and Sydney co-captain Dayne Rampe also received full marks from the coaches.

Despite failing to poll votes, Port Adelaide midfielder Travis Boak remains in fifth position overall on the leaderboard.

There is one game remaining in Round 8 with Fremantle to tackle Geelong on Monday night to complete the round.

Round 8 – votes v St Kilda

5 votes – Clarke (St K)

- Gresham (St K)

- Jones (St K)

4 votes – Byrne-Jones (PA)

- Howard (St K)             

3 votes – Ryder (St K)

- Marshall (St K)

1 vote – Steele (St K)

Overall leader board

50 votes – Lachie Neale (Brisbane)

37 votes - Christian Petracca (Melborne)

32 votes – Jack Steele (St Kilda)

30 votes – Matt Rowell (Gold Coast)

29 votes – Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)

28 votes – Toby Greene (GWS)

27 votes – Joel Selwood (Geelong), Jarrod Witts (Gold Coast), Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs)

26 votes – Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)

25 votes – Max Gawn (Melbourne)

24 votes – Charlie Dixon (Port Adelaide), Todd Goldstein (North Melbourne)