PORT ADELAIDE vice-captain Ollie Wines has been awarded the Peter Badcoe VC Medal for the first time, after Port Adelaide’s ANZAC Day evening clash with St Kilda.

The Badcoe Medal is voted on by journalists and media personalities covering the match and is awarded to the player who best demonstrates the ANZAC spirit and qualities of skill, courage in adversity, self-sacrifice, teamwork and fair play during the game. 

Major Peter Badcoe VC served in the Vietnam War and is the last South Australian to be awarded the Victoria Cross - the military’s highest honour for bravery.

He was one of Australia's greatest war heroes, a highly-decorated soldier whose acts of bravery and courage saw him awarded the medal for three separate acts during the Vietnam conflict.

Major Badcoe died on a battlefield in Vietnam on April 7, 1967 - his last action on that day seeing him single-handedly try to stop a Vietcong machine gunner from firing on allied South Vietnamese troops. 

Wines had 36 possessions, seven marks and eight clearances to be the clear winner of the Peter Badcoe VC Medal for 2021 with a total of 15 votes, followed by skipper Tom Jonas and wingman Karl Amon on 10 each.


Wines – 15

Jonas – 10

Amon – 10

Steele - 1


Darryl Wakelin – AFL Nation / SEN
3 – Amon
2 - Wines
1 – Jonas

Scott Camporeale – ABC Grandstand
3 – Wines
2 – Amon
1 – Jonas

Tim Ginever – FIVEaa
3 – Amon
2 - Jonas
1 – Wines

Simeon Thomas-Wilson – the Advertiser
3 – Wines
2 - Jonas
1 – Steele

Rhett Biglands  – Triple M
3 – Wines
2 – Jonas
1 – Amon


Past Winners: 
2004: Josh Carr (Port Adelaide) 
2005: Warren Tredrea (Port Adelaide) 
2006: Brendon Lade (Port Adelaide) 
2007: Chad Cornes (Port Adelaide) 
2008: Kane Cornes (Port Adelaide) 
2009: Lenny Hayes (St. Kilda)
2010: David Rodan (Port Adelaide)
2011: Michael Rischitelli (Gold Coast Suns)
2012: Josh Kennedy (Sydney)
2013: Hamish Hartlett (Port Adelaide)
2014: Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
2015: Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)
2016: Joel Selwood (Geelong)
2017: Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide)
2018: Joel Selwood (Geelong)
2019: Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)

2020: *not awarded – no ANZAC Round due to COVID-19 lockdown

2021: Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide)