Port Adelaide's SANFL list for the 2024 season has been confirmed, led by captain Nick Moore. Image: Brandon Hancock.

PORT ADELAIDE has welcomed 12 fresh faces to its SANFL list in 2024, with new head coach Hamish Hartlett excited for the mix of new and returning players. 

Hartlett has taken the reins from Tyson Goldsack who, last year, led the side to finals for the first time since 2019. 

Among the new talent is West Adelaide’s Bailey Chamberlain, North Adelaide pair Harry Williams and Josh Byrne, plus Kye Roberts, who trained at Alberton in 2022 as part of the SANFL’s rookie program. 

“(SANFL Football Manager) Paul Stewart’s done a really good job seeking out some new players for the upcoming season, including some guys with previous league footy experience, which is exciting for us,” Hartlett said. 

“We’ve recruited some players who have been at SANFL clubs previously, so they have an understanding of what it takes to be successful at this level. We have definitely strengthened the depth of the playing group.” 

Port Adelaide welcomes 12 fresh faces to its SANFL list, as well as some valuable returnees to the squad. Image: Brandon Hancock.

Hartlett highlighted several new additions that have impressed him so far and looks forward to seeing what they can achieve as Port Adelaide players.  

“Bailey Chamberlain has some good league footy experience and is a hard-working outside player,” Hartlett said. 

“Josh Byrne is another hard worker with some versatility, and Harry Williams is a well-built mid, who’s explosive out of the contest. 

“It’s also great to welcome Kye back this year after he played a few games for us in 2022.” 

New captain and A.R. McLean Medal winner Nick Moore returns for 2024, as well as several players who made regular appearances in 2023 including Cody Szust, Murphy Short, Aidan Turner and Dylan Aldridge. 

Last season, midfielder Moore led the club for tackles, kicked 12 goals and averaged 17 disposals and four clearances per game. 


Electric forward Szust kicked 22 goals from 16 games in 2023, while dual Mail Medallist Short had an immediate impact in his first year at Alberton, averaging 15.5 disposals from 14 matches. 

“We have a great bunch of guys again this year,” Hartlett said. 

“They’re training hard and getting along with each other really well, which is the most important thing. Our new guys will add a lot of value to our group for the season.” 

With a 193-game AFL career behind him, Hartlett has seized coaching opportunities over the last two years, starting with the AFLW program in 2022 and now, as an AFL development coach and head coach of the Magpies. 

“It's been fantastic,” he said. 

“I have been very fortunate to have (AFL midfield development coach) Cam Sutcliffe as my right-hand man, as well as (athletic development coach) Adam Delcano. I’m really grateful to them both for their time and effort in the SANFL program. 

“The playing group that we've got is just incredibly hard working, they're taking everything in their stride. We're trying to upskill them with the education as quickly as we possibly can, linking them to the AFL game plan and getting everyone on the same page. 

“I couldn’t ask for any more support from a personal point of view. There are definitely some long days, being involved in both the AFL and SANFL programs, but I've enjoyed every second of it so far, and hopefully we're set up for a promising season ahead.” 

Port Adelaide 2024 SANFL contract list  


Local club 


Dylan Aldridge 



Beau Baldwin* 

Rostrevor Old Collegians 


Tyson Brazel* 

Prince Alfred College 


Josh Byrne* 



Miller Carter 



Bailey Chamberlain* 

Henley Sharks 


Oliver Cheesman 



Preston Cockatoo-Collins 

Port Districts 


Nathaniel Cooper* 

Goodwood Saints 


Logan Evans* 



Hugh Ferrari 

Old Ignatians 


Will Ferrari 

Old Ignatians 


Cody Gilchrist* 

South Gawler 


Dustin Launer* 

Eudunda Robertstown 


Nick Moore (c) 



Lachlan Pascoe* 

Golden Grove 


Kye Roberts* 

Murray Bridge Ramblers 


Murphy Short 

CMS Crows 


Reed Stevens* 

Goodwood Saints 


Cody Szust 

Murray Bridge Ramblers 


Aidan Turner 



Jake Weidemann 

Henley Sharks 


Harry Williams* 

South Clare Demons  


*Denotes new player