Midfielder Travis Boak and defender Jackson Trengove have been jointly crowned Port Adelaide's best and fairest player for season 2011 after a thrilling John Cahill Medal count at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre tonight.

It is the first time there has been a tie in the John Cahill Medal and it is the first time both Travis Boak and Jackson Trengove have won the Power's best and fairest award.

Boak, 23, was a shining light in the Power's midfield, where he played 21 games and had a team high 458 disposals at an average of 22 per game. His ability to win the ball in traffic was outstanding winning a team high 79 clearances for the year and once in his possession Boak delivered the ball inside 50 more times (85) than any other Port Adelaide player.

Trengove, who recently signed a contract extension with the Club, becomes, as a 20 year-old, the youngest ever winner of the John Cahill medal. In just his second AFL season, Trengove played all 22 games, regularly taking the opposition's key tall forward and emerging as one of the Power's premier young leaders.

Port Adelaide senior coach Matthew Primus says both Boak and Trengove had impressive seasons built on consistency and a selfless, team first attitude.

“Travis took his game to a new, more consistent level this season,” Primus said.

“He’s had to deal with being tagged week in, week out, and yet has still emerged as a very consistent ball winner for us.

“And Jackson has also improved significantly, developing as an outstanding young backman who has also demonstrated the ability to help out in ruck.

“He’s played against some very good key position forwards and considering how much time the ball has spent in our back half this year, Jackson certainly took a step up and improved from where he was last year.

“Most importantly, both Travis and Jackson consistently did what was expected of them and they played their role admirably for our team.”

Boak and Trengove finished ahead of courageous utility Tom Logan, who enjoyed his highest ever finish, Robbie Gray who placed fourth and Danyle Pearce and Justin Westhoff who tied for fifth.

How the Voting Worked in 2011

It was an extraordinary finish to a thrilling John Cahill medal count.

At the completion of Round 19 it was a three-way tie, with Boak, Trengove and Logan all locked on 10 votes. Boak then hit the lead in Round 20, picking up a vote in the Club's loss to Collingwood while Trengove failed to poll and Logan missed with injury.

Not one player polled in the Power's disappointing loss to Hawthorn in Round 21 and in Round 22 Trengove hit the front with two votes against the Western Bulldogs while Boak and Logan again went vote less.

At the completion of Round 23 with one round to go, Trengove and Boak were again tied after Boak gained a vote in the Power's thrilling loss to Essendon, while Trengove and Logan failed to register a vote.

The final round saw Boak and Trengove awarded a vote each in the Club's win against Melbourne at the Adelaide Oval while Logan remained anchored on 10 votes. As a result, both Boak and Trengove finished on 13 votes while Logan finished third, three votes adrift.

Three other awards were also given out on the night.

Hamish Hartlett, who played a career high 16 games in season 2011 before shoulder surgery, won the Gavin Wanganeen Medal as the best rising talent across the season.

For a remarkable fourth year in a row, inspirational skipper Dom Cassisi won the player-voted Fos Williams Medal which is measured on leadership, selflessness, courage, professionalism and loyalty.

And in season 2011 a Coaches' Award was awarded for the first time. This is an award based on the collaborative view of the entire coaching panel, including the senior coach and assistant coaches. The inaugural Coaches' award was won by Tom Logan, after an outstanding season which saw him play 20 games and finish a career high third in the club best and fairest.

Please note that the club's Best First Year player award and Most Improved Player award will no longer be awarded as the Club is of the view that the qualities recognised in these awards are already considered in awarding the Gavin Wanganeen medal for the best rising talent.

2011 John Cahill medal top 5

=1. Travis Boak and Jackson Trengove
3. Tom Logan
4. Robbie Gray
=5. Danyle Pearce and Justin Westhoff

John Cahill medallists: Travis Boak and Jackson Trengove
3rd John Cahill medal: Tom Logan
Gavin Wanganeen medallist: Hamish Hartlett
Fos Williams medallist: Dom Cassisi
Coaches' award: Tom Logan