PORT ADELAIDE midfielder Travis Boak has moved back to second in the chase for the 2020 SHADFORTH FINANCIAL GROUP AFLCA CHAMPION PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD after a stellar performance in the win over Melbourne on Thursday night.

Boak had an equal game-high 25 disposals and added four marks and two tackles to his tally.

The former captain, who turned 32 on Saturday, also had a game-high eight clearances and then finished his work with a last quarter goal.

His performance earned him the full ten votes from the coaches.

Vice-captain Ollie Wines, who also had 25 disposals as well as four clearances, three tackles and a goal earned eight votes as Port completed a clean sweep of the votes.

Dan Houston and Karl Amon each received three votes while Darcy Byrne-Jones, Mitch Georgiades and Tom Rockliff each got given two votes.

Boak is now eleven votes behind leader Lachie Neale from Brisbane, having polled votes for the first time in three games.

There are several games to come in Round 8 to complete the votes but Port is already focussed on its match-up against the Western Bulldogs on Monday with just four days between games. 

Round 9 – votes v Melbourne

10 votes – Boak (PA)

8 votes – Wines (PA)

3 votes – Houston (PA)

– Amon (PA)

2 votes – Byrne-Jones (PA)

– Georgiades (PA)         

– Rockliff (PA)             

Overall leader board

50 votes – Lachie Neale (Brisbane)

39 votes – Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)

37 votes - Christian Petracca (Melbourne)

32 votes – Jack Steele (St Kilda)

30 votes – Matt Rowell (Gold Coast), Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs)

28 votes – Toby Greene (GWS)

27 votes – Joel Selwood (Geelong), Jarrod Witts (Gold Coast)

26 votes – Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)

25 votes – Max Gawn (Melbourne)

24 votes – Charlie Dixon (Port Adelaide), Todd Goldstein (North Melbourne), Cam Guthrie (Geelong)