PORT ADELAIDE midfielder/forward Zak Butters was his side’s sole recipient of any votes in the 2020 SHADFORTH FINANCIAL GROUP AFLCA CHAMPION PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD out of the loss to Brisbane on Saturday night.

Butters booted two goals and had 18 disposals to go with five marks, three tackles and a clearance.

00:44 Mins
Published on

Mark of the Week: Round 5 | PTV

Butters with courage for this week's MOTW

Published on

He was a shining light in an otherwise dull night for Port, earning himself three votes while six Lions took the rest of the votes.

Despite failing to poll votes for the first time this season, Port midfielder Travis Boak remains in third position overall on the leaderboard behind Gold Coast sensation Matt Rowell and Brisbane’s Lachie Neale.

Neale extended his advantage at the top of the leaderboard with nine votes from the game. He leads by ten votes over Rowell and eleven over Boak.

The other Lions to poll votes were Jarryd Lyons (5 votes), Hugh McCluggage and Harris Andrews (4 votes), Daniel Rich (3 votes) and Daniel McStay (2 votes).

Six players polled a perfect ten votes out of the weekend including Richmond’s Kane Lambert in his 100th AFL game. The other five were Fremantle’s Andrew Brayshaw, Josh Bruce of the Western Bulldogs, West Coast’s Nic Naitanui, Essendon’s Dylan Shiel and St Kilda’s Jack Steele.


01:22 Mins
Published on

Macca's post match interview: Zak Butters | PTV

We speak with Zak Butters after the round 5 clash with Brisbane.

Published on

Round 5 – votes v Brisbane

9 votes – Neale (Bris)

5 votes – Lyons (Bris)    

4 votes – McCluggage (Bris)

                – Andrews (Bris)

3 votes – Rich (Bris)

– Butters (PA)

2 vote – McStay (Bris)


Overall leader board

40 votes – Lachie Neale (Brisbane)

30 votes – Matt Rowell (Gold Coast)

29 votes – Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)

23 votes – Chad Wingard (Hawthorn)

22 votes – Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane)

20 votes - Taylor Adams (Collingwood), Todd Goldstein (North Melbourne), Dylan Shiel (Essendon)

19 votes – Isaac Heeney (Sydney), Joel Selwood (Geelong)

18 votes – Toby Greene (GWS), Harry Perryman (GWS) Jarrod Witts (Gold Coast)