PORT ADELAIDE great Russell Ebert has been recognised for his community work with a nomination as part of the SA Australian of the Year Awards.

Ebert has been nominated as one of the four finalists for the 2021 SA Local Hero Award, which will be presented in a ceremony at Adelaide Oval on Monday 12 October.

Involved with the Port Adelaide Football Club since 1968 as a champion player and coach, most recently Ebert has been the manager of the Community Youth Program, which educates primary school children about healthy lifestyles, healthy relationships and STEM.

He also assists with a range of other club programs including the Power to End Violence Against Women program, and it is for his work as an advocate for respectful relationships that he has been nominated.

Ebert played a club record 392 games from 1968 to 1985, winning a record four Magarey Medals as the league’s best player in 1971, 1974, 1976 and 1980.

His career included captaining the Magpies to their drought-breaking 1977 premiership triumph as well as being instrumental in the 1980 and 1981 Grand Final victories.

Named centre in the club’s Greatest Ever Team from 1870-2000, he captained the club from 1974 to 1978, was captain-coach from 1983-1985 and after retiring as a player coached the club in 1986 and 1987.

During that time, he won six club best and fairests, and managed to play 25 games for North Melbourne in 1979.

Ebert’s feats were recognised with his induction to the Port Adelaide Football Club, SA Football and Australian Football Halls of Fame.

Port Adelaide's community programs utilise the club's players to help drive real social and economic change in our community through programs that create education and employment outcomes.

Others to be nominated in the SA Local Hero category are Kaurna Cultural Advisor Rodney O’Brien, the President of the Goodwood Saints Football Club, Craig Scott and the CEO and founder of not-for-profit vulnerable children’s organisation Puddle Jumpers, Melanie Tate.

Four awards will be presented on the night including the 2021 SA Australian of the year, the 2021 SA Senior Australian of the Year and the 2021 SA Young Australian of the Year.

The winners of the four awards will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on 25 January 2021.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand said the South Australia nominees reflect the many ways in which people contribute to the community. 

“In a year which has been particularly challenging for everyone, the South Australia award nominees remind us how important leadership, advocacy and inclusion are,” said Ms Brand. 

“There are so many people in our communities making a real difference, helping others and lifting us up to be better.”

The award ceremony will be available to watch online via livestream.

Here are all of the award nominees:

2021 SA Australian of the Year 

Tanya Hosch – Leader, changemaker, visionary (Golden Grove, Adelaide) 

Jennifer Howard – CEO and founder Safe Pets Safe Families (Huntfield Heights, Adelaide) 

Dr Joy O’Hazy – Doctor and initiator of Birthing Kits (Belair, Adelaide) 

Professor Nicola Spurrier – Chief Public Health Officer, paediatrician and physician (City of Mitcham) 

2021 SA Senior Australian of the Year 

Professor Richard Bruggeman – Disability advocate (Kensington Park, Adelaide) 

Pamela Catcheside – Mycologist (Bellevue Heights) 

Peter Mungkuri OAM – Artist and cultural leader (Indulkana) 

Dr David Squirrell – Advocate for the vision impaired (Hallett Cove) 

2021 SA Young Australian of the Year 

Alicia Beik – Businesswoman and migrant activist (Modbury) 

Isobel Marshall – Social entrepreneur (Adelaide) 

Tori Marshall – Founder and Director of Lift Up Voices (Parkside, Adelaide) 

Holly Scott – Road safety advocate (Mount Barker) 

2021 SA Local Hero 

Russell Ebert OAM – Respectful relationships advocate (West Lakes, Adelaide) 

Rodney O’Brien – Kaurna Cultural Advisor (Alberton) 

Craig Scott – President Goodwood Saints Football Club (West Beach, Adelaide) 

Melanie Tate – CEO and founder Puddle Jumpers Inc (Glandore)