PORT ADELAIDE midfielder Willem Drew’s career-best performance against Collingwood has earned him the perfect ten votes from the coaches in the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year Award.

Drew had a career-high 32 disposals and eight clearances among his 17 contested possessions.

The 22-year-old also had five tackles and a team-high eight score involvements, taking much of the focus off fellow midfielders Ollie Wines and Travis Boak.

Fellow Port Adelaide players Dan Houston (four votes), Charlie Dixon (four votes) and Wines (three votes) also polled while votes went to Collingwood defender Jack Crisp (five votes), ruckman Brodie Grundy (three votes) and backman Jack Madgen (one vote) as well.

02:27 Mins
Published on

Willem Drew post-match interview | PTV

We speak to Willem Drew after our Round 19 win over Collingwood

Published on

Drew was among seven players to receive the perfect ten votes across the competition. Others to score the maximum were Lachie Whitfield (GWS), Isaac Heeney (Sydney), Rory Laird (Adelaide), Max King (St Kilda), Oscar McInerney (Brisbane) and Nick Larkey (North Melbourne).

Despite polling again, Wines has slipped slightly further behind the overall leader Marcus Bontempelli of the Western Bulldogs who picked up nine votes and is now eleven points in front of Wines and two ahead of the next best Clayton Oliver of Melbourne.

Round 19 – votes v Collingwood

10 votes – Drew (PA)

5 votes – Crisp (Coll)

4 votes – Houston, Dixon (PA)

3 votes – Wines (PA), Grundy (Coll)

1 vote – Madgen (Coll)

Overall leader board 

94 votes – Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)

92 votes - Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)

85 votes –Touk Miller (Gold Coast)

83 votes - Sam Walsh (Carlton), Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide)

75 votes - Jack Steele (St Kilda)

70 votes – Darcy Parish (Essendon),

68 votes - Zach Merrett (Essendon)

61 votes - Rory Laird (Adelaide)

60 votes – David Mundy (Fremantle)

59 votes – Hugh McCluggage (Brisbane), Nic Naitanui (West Coast)

57 votes – Christian Petracca (Melbourne)

55 votes - Max Gawn (Melbourne)